Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

19 Sep

My favorite season is here! Pumpkin season!

One of my favorite things about the fall season (or just summer part 2 in Florida) is that pumpkin flavored items are sold everywhere!  I’m a bit obsessed with anything pumpkin flavored, and of course love to bake anything and everything I can with pumpkin.  So to kick off the season, I’ve started with some pumpkin cookies!  These are really tasty, fluffy cookies with a surprise medley of flavors created by the mixture of the pumpkin spices and the chocolate chips : ).  I find that even people who aren’t pumpkin crazed will still really enjoy these (my brother for example)!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Recipe adapted from the Food Network

1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter
1 cup white sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup (8oz) canned pumpkin puree
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
Dark Chocolate mini chocolate chips
Nonstick cooking spray
** Note ** Add 1/2 teaspoon salt if using unsalted butter

Start by creaming your butter till fluffy, and add in the white and brown sugar and mix.

1-IMG_3158

Add the rest of your wet ingredients (eggs, vanilla, pumpkin) and your chocolate chips. Mix well.

1-IMG_3160

In another bowl, mix your dry ingredients (flour, spices, salt, baking soda), and using a whisk, mix ingredients so they are distributed evenly.

** Note ** Actually, while making these my best friend and I started talking about why we use baking soda vs. baking powder.  I actually did my very first cooking YouTube video on this very subject (although we’ve never gotten around to posting it!), and it’s kind of interesting! I’ll try to get that posted along with a corresponding entry sometime soon!

1-IMG_3159

Next, begin mixing your cookie dough by adding your dry mixture into your wet mixture, about 1 cup at a time.  Using a spoon (or a cookie scoop), scoop small balls of batter onto a well greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 15-18 minutes at 350 degrees.  If you’re not sure if they’re done or not, just check for a nice golden brown edge, and the best way of testing is to slightly press down on the cookie to make a small indentation, and if the cake springs back up, it’s done (learned that from my best friend)!

1-IMG_3163

1-IMG_3161

1-IMG_3165

1-IMG_3167

I wanted to dress the cookies up a bit, so I took some of my left over chocolate buttercream from my last project, heated it up, and drizzled it over the cookies!

1-IMG_3168

1-IMG_3169

1-IMG_3170

Simple, fun, and delicious!

Happy pumpkin season, and happy baking : )!

– Nikki

5 Responses to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. ellyvegas1 09/19/2013 at 6:11 pm #

    Yummy these look great! 🙂

  2. Rebecca 09/19/2013 at 7:02 pm #

    We call fall winter part one here in Minnesota, lol. The cookies look like I am about to gain five pounds. I can’t wait to try. Thanks for sharing.

    • macaroneer 09/19/2013 at 9:10 pm #

      I hope to one day live somewhere where I can experience all seasons lol! I hope you enjoy the cookies! Let me know how they turn out : )!

  3. createthinklive 09/19/2013 at 11:55 pm #

    Reblogged this on createthinklive and commented:
    It’s fall…Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies

Leave a Reply

