Chocolate Strawberry Cupcakes

20 Aug

Earlier this month we celebrated my friend Amanda’s birthday, and of course my friend Laina and I had to make something!  I can’t take much credit for the original idea of these cupcakes as Laina showed me a picture of them that she had seen floating around the web, but I found them so cute and easy that I just had to share : ).

For these cupcakes you’ll need…

24 Cupcakes of your flavor choice (you can use the 1234 cake as a base if you’d like! Or a cake mix if you have one on hand)
Vanilla buttercream (see recipe here! https://scienceandmacarons.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/basic-buttercream/)
Strawberries
Dark chocolate (or any chocolate that you’d like)
Shortening or butter

Begin by frosting your cupcakes, I didn’t use a tip for this particular type of frosting style, I just cut a large hole in the pastry bag to get this look : )

Wash and dry your strawberries.  It’s very important that the strawberries be fully dried before you dip them in chocolate, or they will turn out funny looking.

Chocolate Prep:

You can do this a few different ways, you can either just melt your chocolate, or you can add a bit of shortening or butter as you melt it.  The purpose of this is to thin out the chocolate so that it coats your strawberries more efficiently.  I tend to always use shortening because it has no real flavor.  So in a nut shell I’ll put my chocolate in a bowl/mug along with about a tablespoon of shortening and pop it in the microwave for about 15 seconds.   After 15 seconds I’ll stir the chocolate and place it back into the microwave for 15 seconds.  I’ll do this till my chocolate is fully melted and smooth.  I sometimes continue adding shortening if I feel the chocolate is too thick.

The last step is to take your strawberry and carefully dip the lower half into the chocolate.  Once dipped, quickly place the strawberry on top of the cupcake and let the excess chocolate run down the frosting.

And voilà! A cute fancy cupcake, that’s delicious and super easy to make : )!

I hope you enjoyed this little blog post and will give it a try next time you find yourself in need of some cute cupcakes! Happy baking : )

– Nikki

Leave a Reply

